List of countries in Africa

Africa is a continent located on the continent of the world which hosts various countries. Some of these countries are Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Malawi, Morocco and many more. There are many different types of terrain in Africa such as deserts and other arid regions. The climate varies greatly from north to south across Africa with a great deal of variation between land and sea coasts. The wildlife of Africa is among the most diverse on Earth. There are many different species of animals and plants in Africa and some of the most common animals in Africa are the lion, elephant, gorilla and chimpanzee. Africa has many different tribes and ethnic groups and many of these tribes and ethnic groups have their own languages.

Africa has a long history of human settlement and the continent is host to some of the oldest known civilizations and cultures on Earth. These include the Egyptian, Moorish, and the mathematical, ancient civilizations of the African continent. There are various cultures and countries that are unique to Africa. The Bantu language and culture are unique to the area.

There are various types of terrain in Africa. The land in the north part of the continent is mostly desert terrain. This includes the Sahara desert. The Sahara desert is more than twice the size of Texas. The area is home to some of the oldest and largest sand dunes in the world. The sand dunes can be up to 10km in height. The Tana River is the largest river in Africa. The Tana River is a major tributary of the Nile River.

List of countries in Africa


  • Algeria
  • Angola


  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi


  • Cabo Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic (CAR)
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire


  • Djibouti


  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia


  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau


  • Kenya


  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya


  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique


  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria


  • Rwanda


  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan


  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia


  • Uganda


  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Last Updated on December 27, 2021

Leave a Comment