Which Continent Is Russia in – Europe or Asia?

Russia is a member of both Europe and Asia. In fact, it is not always clear where to place Russia in the 7 continent model. In the map above Europe is divided into two parts: Europe proper and Europe at War. In Europe proper, there are five countries: Germany, Italy, France, Spain, and the UK. Europe at War includes countries in Eastern Europe, such as Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine, and also includes some of the Mediterranean countries. On the other hand, in the list of continents, we have to place Russia in one continent or the other. So we placed it in Europe, following the United Nations classification.

More than half of the population of Russia lives in the European continent. Both the north and south poles are located in Antarctica, which is the only continent that lies entirely outside of any other continent.

The Peoples Of The Russian Federation: Both European And Asian

With such a rich cultural heritage, Russia is a very diverse country in which European and Asian traditions live side-by-side. Russians comprise nearly three-quarters of the country’s population. Ethnic Russians are just one of the 190 ethnic groups in the Russian Federation. Most of the ethnic groups in Russia are Asian, including the Buryats and the Yakuts, who live in the eastern portion of Siberia. The ethnic groups that are European in origin include the Karelians, the Mordovians, and the Udmurts, all of whom live in the area of the country west of Russia’s Pacific coastline. In Russia today the largest minority group is the Tatars, a Turkic-speaking people, whose origin lies in present-day Mongolia.

Why Is Russia Part Of Both Europe And Asia?

The territory of Russia is located at the eastern border of Europe and extends into the Asian continent. According to the geographic convention, Europe’s eastern border is the Ural Mountains and the Ural River, which flows from those mountains into the far west corner of Kazakhstan. Most people consider Russia’s western border to be its boundary with Scandinavia, as well as its border with the Baltic States (Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania). It also includes the Ural Mountains and much of Siberia.

Russia, however, does not have any territories that lie in Asia. It is, rather, a part of the East European group of countries, and therefore is part of Europe. The Siberian territory east of the Urals is known as Siberia. It stretches all the way to the Bering Sea, which is located to the north of the North Pacific Ocean. Alaska and Russia are actually closer to each other than they are to each other’s states. At their closest point, Alaska is only 2.4 miles from Russia and Russia is only 5 miles from Alaska. Russia’s territory extends from the Arctic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean, from the Baltic Sea in the west to Lake Baikal, and the Tien Shan Mountains in the east. Japan is an island nation that shares a maritime border with Korea in the North Pacific Ocean. It also shares land borders with the Central Asian countries of Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan. 

Russia is a huge country. Its vast territory makes it the largest country in the world. Indeed, Russia’s vast territory makes it the largest country in the world by land area.

Last Updated on January 6, 2022

Leave a Comment